Louisiana Car Insurance [Rates, Discounts, + More]
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Aug 9, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single company.
Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from top car companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|Louisiana Statistics Summary||Stats|
|Road Miles in State||48,252|
|Number of Vehicles Registered||3,772,692|
|Most popular vehicle||F150|
|Total Driving Related Deaths||Speeding: 177
|Full Coverage Annual Premiums||Liability: $775.83
|Cheapest Providers||USAA and State Farm|
From the Bayou country surrounding Lake Pontchartrain to the anything-goes attitude in New Orleans, Louisiana residents are happy to celebrate and enjoy life to the fullest. But all of that celebrating can be expensive, especially since Louisiana car insurance is some of the most expensive in the country. In fact,
The most recent data shows that Lousiana drivers pay an average of $117 a month, or $1,405 a year, in car insurance.
We know car insurance isn’t something you want to spend a lot of time on, which is why we’ve compiled this comprehensive guide about cheap car insurance in Louisiana. And we’re going beyond just reciting the top car insurance discounts. We’re drilling down to the need-to-know car insurance laws, facts, and stats that will help you stay safe and save money.
Getting up to speed on affordable Louisiana car insurance is as easy as sticking with us. You can also begin shopping for the most affordable rates in Louisiana by entering your ZIP code in our free car insurance comparison tool at the top of the page.
Louisiana Car Insurance Coverage and Rates
Whether you love the Saints, or root for the Tigers, we’re always looking for ways to help save you money. But what about the cost of car insurance in Louisiana?
The median household income in Louisiana is $52,000, and drivers, on average, paid about $177 a month for car insurance.
Now, we’re going to show you what coverage you have to have in Louisiana, and other options, so you can choose the best coverage for your needs.
What is Louisiana’s car culture?
The state of Louisiana has some of the worst public transportation systems in the country, so residents prefer to drive themselves most of the time. But what are they driving? Like most southern states, Louisiana drivers love their trucks and SUVs.
According to the Hartford, car culture is big in Louisiana, and antique and hot rod enthusiasts put on regular shows and events. Although professional racing is rare in Louisiana, the NOLA Motorsports Park offers a venue where visitors can rent all forms of vehicles to drive on the 2.75-mile track.
How much coverage is required for Louisiana minimum coverage?
Do I need car insurance in Louisiana? Car insurance — it’s something most of us who drive are required to have. Each state has minimum requirements, and we hope you never have to deal with, or end up in, one of these dire situations. What is minimum auto insurance coverage in Louisiana? The basic Louisiana car insurance coverage requirements for liability insurance are:
- $15,000 to cover the death or injury of one person
- $30,000 to cover the death or injury of more than one person
- $25,000 to cover property damage
Liability insurance pays all individuals — drivers, passengers, pedestrians, etc. — who are owed compensation for property damage and injuries resulting from a car accident that you or anyone under your policy causes. If you cause an accident, liability insurance pays everyone affected by the crash.
What are forms of financial responsibility in Louisiana?
Financial responsibility is proof that you have Louisiana’s minimum liability car insurance coverage. State laws require every driver and owner of a vehicle to have evidence of financial security at all times.
Acceptable forms of proof of insurance are:
- Valid liability insurance ID cards
- Copy of your current car’s insurance policy
- Valid insurance binder (a temporary form of car insurance)
- Electronic insurance card
If you drive without proof of insurance, you are breaking the law.
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI):
Driving without insurance — or being involved in a crash without insurance — can result in the imposition of a fine of $500 to $1,000, plus the suspension of driving privileges, impoundment of a vehicle, revocation of registration, or cancellation of license plates.
Additionally, if you drive without car insurance in Louisiana, the state’s “No Pay, No Play” law may also prohibit you from collecting specific amounts after a car accident, even if the other driver is at fault; specifically:
- the first $25,000 in property damages
- the first $15,000 in personal injuries
Remember, having and showing evidence of insurance are required by state law in Louisiana.
How much percentage of income are premiums in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, the per capita disposable income is $37,787. On average, residents spend $117 a month on car insurance. To put this amount in perspective, the national monthly average for car insurance is about $82. This means motorists in Louisiana pay more than the countrywide average.
When we look at surrounding states like Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi, the Pelican State still has the highest rates for car insurance, but these state rates are close behind.
Over the last three years, Louisiana’s average car insurance rate has increased by about $90.
You can also use our calculator to know how much you are spending on premiums.
What are the core coverages in Louisiana?
What car insurance coverage do I need in Louisiana? Minimum liability coverage is not your only option when it comes to affordable car insurance in Louisiana. You can choose from a variety of plans, including those detailed by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC):
- Liability – $775.83
- Collision – $414.36
- Comprehensive – $215.17
- Combined – $1,405.36
The national average for full coverage comes in at $1,009.38. As you can see, Louisiana’s average annual cost for full coverage far exceeds that number by nearly $400. Why is auto insurance so high in Louisiana? It depends on a number of factors, such as location, crashes, and other demographic information.
What additional liability is available in Louisiana?
To assess the financial health of insurance companies, you should look at their loss ratios. Loss ratios are the money insurance companies pay out on claims compared to the money they take in on premiums.
For example, if an auto insurer collects $100,000 of premiums in a given year and pays out $45,000 in claims, the company’s loss ratio is 45 percent ($45,000 incurred losses/$100,000 earned premiums).
Check out the loss ratio for these two types of coverage in Louisiana.
|Medical Payments (Med Pay)||85.88||85.62||86.66|
In most situations, you’ll want to work with a provider (and choose a coverage type) that has a loss ratio between 60 and 70 percent.
What add-ons, endorsements, and riders are available in Louisiana?
No one wants to have an accident, but if you do, will you have enough protection for yourself and your family? Or if you’re hiring a rental car for your holiday, will your car insurance cover it? Have you considered adding extra coverages to your policy?
Choosing from a list of options can be daunting, and we know you want the best options for your family at affordable prices. To help you decide, we’ve made a list of affordable options to add to your policy. Check out the selections below:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Usage-based or Pay-as-you-drive Insurance
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Do gender and age affect my car insurance in Louisiana?
You may have heard that men have to pay more for car insurance because they’re reckless drivers. While some people say just the opposite and that women pay more.
As the table below reflects, neither claim is always correct:
|Married 35-year-old Female||$4,254.40||$3,430.68||$4,158.02||$2,851.05||$2,678.38|
|Married 35-year-old Male||$4,254.40||$3,952.72||$3,880.90||$2,851.05||$2,634.64|
|Married 60-year-old Female||$4,394.91||$4,103.66||$3,483.46||$2,619.17||$2,612.63|
|Married 60-year-old Male||$4,394.91||$5,009.51||$3,762.32||$2,619.17||$2,591.11|
|Single 25-year-old Female||$4,694.46||$3,309.53||$4,746.19||$3,180.57||$3,286.33|
|Single 25-year-old Male||$5,083.73||$3,204.45||$4,834.20||$3,569.11||$3,597.39|
|Single 17-year-old Female||$9,256.33||$12,767.36||$16,529.91||$8,404.12||$8,021.04|
|Single 17-year-old Male||$11,657.16||$13,458.88||$18,373.77||$10,538.72||$9,403.41|
|Average Rate (17-year-olds)||$10,456.75||$13,113.12||$17,451.84||$9,471.42||$8,712.23|
|Average Rate (Over 17)||$4,512.80||$3,835.09||$4,144.18||$2,948.35||$2,900.08|
In fact, these Louisiana car insurance stats show that age has more of an influence on how much you pay for car insurance. Teenagers, regardless of their gender, have to pay more for their coverage than middle-aged adults do.
What are the cheapest car insurance rates by ZIP code in Louisiana?
In addition to gender and age, where you live can affect your auto insurance rates. We’ve collected data from Quadrant on the 25 least and most expensive ZIP codes, so search to see if your ZIP code lands on the list.
|ZIP Code||Highest Average Rate||ZIP Code||Lowest Average Rate|
The ZIP codes with the highest Louisiana car insurance rates are from the New Orleans Metropolitan area and are thousands more than comparable coverage in more urban locales.
What are the cheapest rates by city in Louisiana?
We’ve also collected data on car insurance rates by city. Below is a list of the 25 least expensive cities for Louisiana car insurance followed by the most expensive. Scroll down to see if your city’s cost is included.
|Pointe a la Hache||$7,254.34|
Amazingly, residents in Hornbeck paid over $4,000 less for car insurance than those who lived in New Orleans.
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best Louisiana Car Insurance Companies
If you own a vehicle, there’s a good chance you are paying too much for your insurance. But it isn’t just cost that should be considered when looking to save big on shopping for car insurance.
Who wants to spend time looking for the lowest price? That’s why we’ve done all the work for you and researched the best insurance carriers in Louisiana so you can make the best choice for your situation.
We’ve looked at companies’ financial ratings, A.M. Best’s ratings, and which companies have the most complaints. Keep reading to learn about Louisiana’s car insurance providers and who has the best car insurance in Louisiana.
What are the financial ratings of the largest car insurance companies in Louisiana?
Loss ratios play a large part in how secure a company is doing financially. That’s why we want to include A.M. Best ratings, which look at loss ratios to determine if a company has solid financial security.
So you can see how the 10 largest companies in Louisiana are doing, we’ve included the A.M. Best ratings for each.
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+|
|Amtrust NGH Group||Not Rated (NR)|
|Goauto Insurance Co||Not Rated (NR)|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A|
|Safeway Insurance Group||A|
|Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Group||A+|
|State Farm Group||A++|
Which car insurance companies have the best ratings in Louisiana?
Louisiana drivers who want greater insight into customer satisfaction can turn to J.D. Power. For years, the company has surveyed consumers and analyzed their feedback. J.D. Power delves into whether drivers are happy with their insurance company.
Through its 2019 U.S. Auto Insurance Study, car insurance companies are ranked by region and measured in five areas (in order of importance):
- Policy offerings
- Billing process and policy information
J.D. Power additionally assigns “Power Circle Ratings” to each insurer. They are:
- Five out of Five Circles, also known as “Among the Best”
- Four out of Five Circles/”Better than Most”
- Three out of Five Circles/”About Average”
- Two out of Five Circles/”The Rest”
(out of 1,000)
Power Circle Ratings
|Farm Bureau Insurance||888||5/5|
|KY Farm Bureau||830||3/5|
|NC Farm Bureau||855||4/5|
Of the larger providers, State Farm and Geico lead the way with overall satisfaction scores of 853 and 838. Conversely, Liberty Mutual is at the bottom of the list when it comes to customer satisfaction, with a score of 809.
Lastly, it’s worth mentioning USAA’s status on this list. Though the insurer is part of the study, it is not ranked. This is because USAA is only open to U.S. military personnel and their families, and therefore, is not included in J.D. Power’s overall rankings.
Next, let’s check out their record of official complaints.
Which car insurance companies have the most complaints in Louisiana?
One thing to keep in mind is that a high complaint index doesn’t necessarily mean you should avoid a company. You should also look at a company’s customer satisfaction ratings because how a company deals with complaints is also important.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share||Number of Complaints||Complaint Index|
|Allstate Insurance Co||$126,806,438||2.81%||41||1.488225|
|Louisiana Farm Bureau||$224,526,282||4.98%||25||0.512505|
GoAuto has the highest complaint index in Louisiana. This means, essentially, that the number of complaints they receive far exceeds what you would expect for the company based on its market share.
If you want more details of the complaints or to check out other insurers, the data is provided in the Consumer Insurance Search section on the website of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.
What are the cheapest car insurance companies in Louisiana?
Do you like saving money? We do. That’s why we’ve compiled a list of the companies that have the cheapest Louisiana car insurance rates. To save money, you should shop around to see what’s available.
The table below displays the top carriers in Louisiana and their average rate for all drivers and compares it to the state average of all companies.
|Company||Average||Compared to State Average||Percentage Separation|
|Progressive Security Ins.||$7,471.10||+$1,759.75||+23.55%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$4,579.12||-$1,132.22||-24.73%|
According to the data, State Farm and Allstate are the companies you should consider first if you’re looking for the cheapest car insurance.
Factors that Change Car Insurance Rates
Does my commute affect my car insurance rate in Louisiana? At some companies, how far you drive each day influences your insurance rates. Beyond age, gender, location, marital status, and carrier, other factors that affect your quoted rates from each carrier are those specific to your situation, such as how much coverage you want, credit history, and driving record.
So if you are wondering “why is car insurance so expensive in Louisiana,” it could be because of your demographics. The tables below compare such factors based on each carrier.
|Company||10-mile Commute/6,000 Annual Mileage||25-mile Commute/12,000 Annual Mileage|
Most company rates don’t change when the drive shortens to a 10-mile commute, except for State Farm and Geico, which offer rate reductions of over $240.
Can coverage level change my car insurance rate with companies in Louisiana? Do you need better car insurance coverage, but are unsure how much more you’ll pay for higher coverage? The following table shows the differences in coverage levels.
|Company||Low Coverage||Medium Coverage||High Coverage|
For example, the data above shows State Farm has the lowest increases at $1,200 from low to high coverage. How does my credit history affect my car insurance rate with companies in Louisiana?
The quality of your credit score impacts your insurance rates. In Louisiana, the average credit score is 650, which is well below the nationwide average of 675. This means drivers may pay more for their car insurance than those in neighboring states.
The table below shows what you can expect to pay yearly on car insurance based on your credit history.
|Company||Poor Credit||Fair Credit||Good Credit|
If you have coverage through Allstate and have poor credit, you can expect to pay nearly $3,600 more for car insurance than someone with good credit.
How does my driving record change my rates with car insurance companies in Louisiana? A clean driving record is the easiest route to affordable car insurance in Louisiana. As you can see from the information below, at Progressive, just one speeding violation can raise your rate by over $2100.
|Company||Clean Record||One Speeding Ticket||One Accident||One DUI|
A better record equals better, cheaper car insurance rates. We encourage you to obey posted speed limit signs and NOT drink and drive.
Which car insurance companies are the largest in Louisiana?
For this section, we’re going to check out the largest car insurance companies in Louisiana and take a look at some of their numbers.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share||Loss Ratio|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$502,616||53.33%||11.15%|
|Amtrust NGH Group||$104,343||67.11%||2.32%|
|Goauto Insurance Co||$144,626||74.36%||3.21%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$253,836||68.10%||5.63%|
|Safeway Insurance Group||$72,940||67.02%||1.62%|
|Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Group||$231,086||70.01%||5.13%|
|State Farm Group||$1,512,622||73.76%||33.57%|
Direct premiums written are the total amount of an insurance company’s written premiums during a given year without accounting for the amount ceded to reinsurance. It can include policies that other affiliated companies write, but it does not include the premiums earned from the company’s role as a reinsurer.
Market shares are a bit simpler. A market share is the percentage of the market for a product or service that a company supplies.
So, from the data from the above table, you can see State Farm is the largest insurance company because they have the most direct premiums written ($1,512,622), and they have the largest market share (33.57%).
How many car insurance companies are available in Louisiana?
Domestic insurance means a company is formed under Louisiana’s state laws, whereby a foreign provider is formed under the laws of any state in the country.
- Domestic Insurers – 34
- Foreign Insurers – 819
Just because an insurance provider isn’t considered a domestic insurer, it doesn’t mean they will charge you more for your car insurance. We encourage you to comparison shop and see which companies offer the best quotes based on your situation.
Louisiana Car Insurance Laws
Insurance companies are subject to specific rules and regulations. Let’s look at some of the particular laws for consumers regarding car insurance.
What are the car insurance laws in Louisiana?
Louisiana is a direct action state. This means injured passengers do not have to allow the driver responsible for an accident to take care of their expenses. Instead, that passenger can sue the at-fault driver’s car insurance provider for their damages.
How State Laws for Insurance Are Determined
Every state is required to follow a regulation mechanism to implement new rates, and the options include determined by Commissioner, prior approval, modified prior approval, flex rating, file and use, use and file, and no file.
Louisiana uses what’s called “prior approval” when car insurance companies want to file a new law. But what does prior approval mean?
Prior approval means that rates/forms must be filed with and approved by the state insurance department before they can be used. Approval can be by means of a deemer provision, which indicates approval if rates/forms are not denied within a specified number of days.
It may be something you haven’t thought about a lot, but how laws are determined can have a significant impact on your car insurance rates.
If you incur any other expenses after getting into an accident while operating under this type of coverage, you’re going to have to see to them yourself.
Unfortunately, there aren’t any laws regarding windshield repair in Louisiana at this time. However, individual insurance companies may offer windshield repair coverage with a comprehensive insurance plan.
Louisiana law does require insurance providers to offer aftermarket crash parts to drivers who’ve been in an accident, as long as the applicable deductible does not exceed $250.
What happens with motorists who consistently accumulate points on their driving record? Initially, insurance providers raise their rates, but it gets riskier to insure such motorists at times.
When a motorist becomes high-risk, they can be denied coverage and may have to get an SR-22 or high-risk insurance.
Louisiana offers the Louisiana Automobile Insurance Plan to high-risk drivers. This plan operates through AIPSO, and while they will not take responsibility for your bad driving habits, they will ensure that you have the state minimum liability coverage.
Though Louisiana has a program to help high-risk drivers, it doesn’t have one for low-income drivers, so there is no low-income car insurance in Louisiana.
California, Hawaii, and New Jersey are the only states with government-funded programs to help low-income drivers pay for their car insurance.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Louisiana
What is automobile insurance fraud? Creating a claim for damages or injuries that never occurred (such as faking an accident) or adding “extra” costs onto a legitimate claim are examples of fraud.
If you know someone who has committed insurance fraud or you need to contact the Louisiana State Insurance Department, you can visit their website at www.ldi.la.gov, follow them on Twitter @LAInsuranceDept, or give them a phone call at 1-800-259-5300.
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations is the amount of time you have after an accident to file a claim with your car insurance provider.
In Louisiana, you have one year from the date of the accident to file a claim if you want your car insurance provider to help you pay for any property damage or personal injuries.
Every state makes its laws, and they may be similar to ones already on the books in other states. One rule we discovered which is unique to New Orleans is horses may not be tied to a tree on a public highway.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
What are the vehicle licensing laws in Louisiana?
Louisiana, just like every other state, has mandatory licensing laws in addition to the statute of limitations and car insurance laws we previously covered.
Louisiana is in full compliance with the REAL ID Act passed by Congress and enforced by Homeland Security. This means that a driver’s license or state ID issued by the Pelican State is an acceptable form of identification at federal facilities, airports, and nuclear power plants.
Due to the coronavirus, the old deadline for being compliant with the REAL ID Law has been pushed to May 3, 2023, instead of October 1, 2020.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Car insurance is more expensive in Louisiana than in most other states, so it may be tempting to drive uninsured. That’s not something we recommend because the penalties for driving while uninsured are severe.
What happens if you don’t have car insurance in Louisiana? The first time you are caught driving without car insurance, you’ll have to suffer the following consequences:
- Fine – $500 to $1000
- If in a car accident, fine plus registration revoked and driving privileges suspended for 180 days
Furthermore, if you are in an accident, the law states that “anyone caught driving without insurance in Louisiana will automatically owe $25,000 in property damage and $15,000 in personal damages to any person they get into an accident with.”
The easiest thing to do to avoid all of these hassles and headaches is to make sure you maintain the state minimum requirements for car insurance.
Teen Driver Laws
In the state of Louisiana, you must be at least 15 years old to start driver’s education classes. However, there are requirements that must be met before turning 16 years old and getting a restricted driver’s license.
|Young Driver Licensing Laws||Age Restrictions||Passenger Restrictions||Time Restrictions|
|Learner's Permit||15; Obtain a temporary instruction permit (TIP) from the OMV; Completion of driver education course; TIP is exchanged for a learner's permit||No more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6 p.m.–5 a.m.; No passenger restriction from 5 a.m.–6 p.m.||11 p.m.–5 a.m.|
|Provisional License||Six-month holding period; 50 hours driving time, 15 of which must be at night||No more than one passenger younger than 21 between the hours of 6 p.m.–5 a.m.; No passenger restriction from 5 a.m.–6 p.m.||11 p.m.–5 a.m.|
|Full License||16||Lifted at age 17||Lifted at age 17|
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
Once you receive a full license, you will need to renew it on a consistent cycle. As you can see in the table below, non-teenage drivers and drivers younger than 70 years old will need to renew their licenses every six years.
|Renewal Procedures||General Population||Older Population|
|License renewal cycle||Six years||Six years|
|Mail or online renewal permitted||Both, every other renewal||70 and older, not permitted|
|Proof of adequate vision required at renewal||When renewing in person||70 and older, every renewal|
If you’ve recently moved to Louisiana, make sure you complete the following tasks within 20 days of taking up residency:
- Obtain a Louisiana driver’s license
- Purchase an auto insurance policy
- Register your car with the local OMV
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
Negligent or reckless operation of a vehicle is a crime in Louisiana. The offense is defined as driving in a “criminally negligent or reckless manner.” In other words, a person can be convicted of reckless operation for driving in a way that a reasonably careful person would know is dangerous.
Reckless operation is a misdemeanor in Louisiana. The possible penalties for a violation are:
- First offense – A first reckless operation conviction carries up to 90 days in jail and $200 in fines
- Repeat offense – For a second or subsequent reckless operation conviction, the driver faces ten days to six months in jail and $25 to $500 in fines
Motorists who are convicted of three reckless operation offenses within 12 months could receive a 24-month license suspension.
What are the rules of the road in Louisiana?
We all should obey the rules, but if you’re new to the state, there may be laws you’re unfamiliar with. That’s why we’ve assembled a list of several relevant laws to help keep you in good standing and on the road.
Fault Versus No-fault
Is Louisiana a no-fault state for auto insurance? No, Louisiana is a fault-based state, which means if you are the cause of a car accident, you are responsible for any damage caused.
Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws
In Louisiana, all adult drivers and passengers are required to wear safety belts. This law is under primary enforcement, meaning a police officer can pull you over just because they see you’re not strapped in.
Child passengers must follow the following guidelines.
- Children who weigh less than 60 pounds or who are younger than 5 years old will need to be in an appropriate car seat. If they’re not, and you’re spotted by law enforcement, you may have to pay a fine of up to $100.
- After a child turns 6 or passes 60 pounds in weight, Louisiana law states that they can sit in a passenger seat unaided.
- However, neither children nor adults are permitted to ride in the cargo area of a pickup truck, with the following exceptions:
- Passengers older than 12 years old, not riding on a major highway.
- Passengers in a parade driving at speeds below 15 mph.
- Anyone, if a state-wide or local emergency has been declared.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
If you’re driving slower than the posted speed limit or if you’re not looking to pass a car in front of you, then Louisiana law dictates you must remain in the right-hand lane of the interstate.
You must also move over for vehicles that have their lights flashing, regardless of whether they’re marked as emergency vehicles. These vehicles include but are not limited to:
- Police cruisers
- Tow trucks
- Recovery vehicles
Across Louisiana, these are the maximum speed limits, unless otherwise posted:
- Rural areas – 75 mph
- Urban areas – 70 mph
- Limited access roads – 70 mph
- All other roads – 65 mph
We encourage you to obey posted speed limit signs.
Companies like Uber and Lyft have changed the way many Americans get to their destinations by providing rides and job opportunities.
If you are looking for ridesharing insurance in Louisiana, check out the following insurance providers:
- State Farm
Please keep in mind that some insurance companies may refuse to insure you if you are in the ridesharing business.
Automation on the Road
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS):
“Automation is the use of a machine or technology to perform a task or function that was previously carried out by a human. In driving, automation involves using radar, camera, and other sensors to gather information about a vehicle’s surroundings, which is then used by computer programs to perform parts or all of the driving task on a sustained basis.”
Presently, Louisiana doesn’t currently have any laws about automation on the books.
What are the safety laws in Louisiana?
Up next, we take a closer look at the safety laws in Louisiana so that you can arrive alive. Please don’t drink and drive.
Impaired and Distracted Driving Laws
Driving while impaired has disastrous results for everyone involved, and that’s why strict laws are in place to prevent such tragedies. In Louisiana alone, drunk driving caused 212 deaths in 2017. Each state differs in how they address drunk driving and therefore have different penalties.
The table below shows detail on what a driver will face if they are charged and convicted of DUI.
|Penalty||First Offense||Second Offense||Third Offense||Fourth and Subsequent Offenses|
|License Suspension||One year/hBAC two years||Two years/hBAC four years||Three years||Vehicle seized|
|Imprisonment||48 hours in jail + up to six months OR fine; up to two years probation||48 hours+||One to five years w/ or w/o hard labor||10–30 years, two years served w/o suspension or parole + home incarceration for at least one year|
|Fine||$300–$1000 +$100 reinstatement fee||$750–$1000 +$200 reinstatement fee||$2000 +$300 reinstatement fee||$5000 +$300 reinstatement fee|
|Other||30 hours reeducation, 32+ hours community service, half must be street garbage pickup||Possible 30 days community service + reeducation requirements of first DWI||30 days community service, evaluation for addictive disorder, IID, probation and home incarceration for any part of suspended sentence||40 days community service|
We encourage you to never be in this situation and never drink and drive. Not only can you lose your driver’s license, but you can also lose your life.
In Louisiana, there are no laws on the books regarding marijuana-impaired driving.
For distracted driving, Louisiana’s legislation regarding handheld devices states that:
- Handheld bans apply to all drivers in signed school zones
- Learners’ permit holders and intermediate license holders cannot use their cell phones while behind the wheel of a car
- Drivers under the age of 18 cannot legally use a cellphone while driving, even if the cellphone is projecting through the car’s speakers or is connected to the car via Bluetooth
- Anyone driving a vehicle for the first time cannot use their cellphone for the first year of operation, regardless of their age
Distracted driving is bad news for everyone. Remember, put the phone down so you won’t get pulled over.
Driving in Louisiana
Now that you have a good understanding of Louisiana state laws, let’s dive into some facts that you might not know. While insurance is essential, it’s also crucial to know what to keep your eyes out for on the road.
How many vehicle thefts occur in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, your pickup is far more likely to go missing than a sports car, as you can see based on this list of the top 10 vehicles most frequently stolen in the state:
|Vehicle||Number of Thefts (2016)|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||671|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||584|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||253|
|Dodge Pickup (Full Size)||222|
One good way to deter car thieves is always to lock your vehicle when not in use.
Vehicle Theft by City
Your location also impacts the likelihood of your car being stolen. Some cities in Louisiana, as you can see in the table below, are more prone to grand theft auto than others:
|City||Number of Stolen Cars|
Naturally, urban areas like New Orleans see more traffic, and as a result, more theft.
How many road fatalities occur in Louisiana?
Accidents happen, and next, we’re going to show you statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for different kinds of accidents in Louisiana.
Most Fatal Highway in Louisiana
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Louisiana’s U.S. 90 is the most dangerous highway in the state, with an average of 27 fatal accidents per year. This statistic is plausible, as it is the most popular roadway in the state.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition
When it comes to weather, the state of Louisiana is known for its subtropical climate. This means plenty of heat, sunshine, and humidity. At times, this can also mean a lot of rain, which can impact residents in every way – from bringing bugs into your garden, to creating slick roads and dangerous driving conditions.
You may be wondering, in what ways does the weather in Louisiana affect driving? Right now, we’re taking a look at Louisiana’s fatalities during different types of weather conditions. The following table shows how many crashes occurred when weather and light conditions are a factor.
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
As you can see, most accidents occur during daylight hours.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has collected extensive data on crashes in Louisiana. One of the first statistics we want to look at is how fatalities vary from county to county. The following table shows how many crashes occurred by county in the state of Louisiana.
|East Baton Rouge||41||50||43||52||65||9.22||11.21||9.63||11.61||14.57|
|St. John the Baptist||15||8||8||10||8||34.42||18.29||18.35||23||18.42|
|West Baton Rouge||11||11||9||5||12||44.66||43.67||35.2||19.28||45.69|
East Baton Rouge Parish and Orleans Parish lead the way in fatalities over the past five years.
Traffic Fatalities in Louisiana
Car insurance companies, law enforcement, and the DMV consider all data collected over the years. To accurately report fatality data per year, these organizations separate the data by rural and urban categories.
In the table below, traffic fatality numbers for rural and urban areas are listed.
In our five-year lookback period, more fatal accidents occurred on urban roads than in rural areas.
The type of car driven can sometimes show trends in fatalities, and car occupants aren’t the only ones at risk in a crash. Pedestrians, cyclists, and motorcyclists die every year from vehicle accidents. In the table below, we examine fatalities by person type.
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||529|
As the data reflects, most fatalities occurred in closed vehicles.
Between 2013 to 2017, the greatest number of fatalities occurred in single-vehicle crashes, followed by roadway departures. In the table below, we examine fatalities by crash type.
|Involving a Roadway Departure||421|
|Involving a Rollover||204|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||141|
|Involving a Large Truck||102|
Sadly, driving alone and single-vehicle crashes are the leading cause of fatalities in Louisiana.
The table below shows the 10 counties in Louisiana that had the highest number of fatal accidents over a five-year period:
|East Baton Rouge||41||50||43||52||65|
Again, East Baton Rouge Parish and Orleans Parish lead the way in fatalities over the past five years.
Speed limits are implemented to not only save on the cost of gasoline but to help keep you safe. The table below shows the fatalities involving speeding listed by county.
Tangipahoa Parish leads the way with 14 fatalities by speeding in 2017. We encourage you to slow down and obey posted speed limit signs.
Check out the table below to see fatalities in crashes that involved an alcohol-impaired driver with a BAC over .08.
|East Baton Rouge||19|
Nineteen people were killed in East Baton Rouge Parish in 2017 when alcohol was involved. We encourage you never to drink and drive so you can arrive safely.
Teen Drinking and Driving
In 26 states and D.C., under-21 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 population were at or below the national average of 1.2 deaths per 100,000 population.
Louisiana’s average is slightly above the national average at 1.3 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 population. Louisiana is ranked 45th in the U.S. for under-18 DUI arrests.
Teen drunk driving is a major problem in America that leads to fatal accidents regularly. If you have children who’re teenagers, try instilling safe driving habits from the beginning.
EMS Response Time
If you or someone you know is in an accident, you want help to arrive as fast as possible. Check out the table below for response times for emergency personnel in rural and urban areas.
|Location||Time of Crash to Notification||Arrival||Arrival at Scene to Hospital||Time of Crash to Hospital|
|Rural||5 minutes||14 minutes||45 minutes||1 hour, 3 minutes|
|Urban||4 minutes||8 minutes||33 minutes||35 minutes|
Living in a rural area certainly has its benefits, but it could be dangerous if time is of the essence when you or someone you love is in an accident.
What is transportation like in Louisiana?
When you drive through your neighborhood, do you ever notice how many cars are sitting in your neighbors’ driveways? Usually, we can tell if someone is visiting by that extra car parked outside the house.
The following data was sourced from the Census Bureau via DataUSA.io.
Just like the national average, the average household in Louisiana has two cars. If you do have two (or more) vehicles, it’s always a good idea to talk to your insurance provider to determine if you qualify for a multiple vehicle discount on your auto premium. It could save you hundreds of dollars.
Commute Time and Commuter Transportation
The average commute time in the U.S. is 25.3 minutes. Fortunately, Louisiana’s average commute time is slightly below this at 24.2 minutes. Additionally, 2.88 percent of Louisiana workers have super commutes, which are commute times over 90 minutes.
Driving alone is the most common commute option in every state, though people are beginning to turn to other commute options like carpooling and working from home. In Louisiana, 10 percent of the working population carpools, and another 3.34 percent are lucky enough to work from home.
If you do work from home, be sure, and ask your insurance provider about possible discounts.
Traffic Congestion in Louisiana
Louisiana residents spend less time commuting than other states, and only New Orleans made it onto the Inrix’s global traffic scorecard. In the table below, we see drivers in The Crescent City spend 73 hours yearly sitting in congestion.
|City||2018 World Rank||Hours Lost in Congestion||Cost of Congestion (per driver)||Inner City Traffic Time (minutes)||Inner City Traffic Speed|
|New Orleans||137th||73||$1,023||5||12 mph|
Now that you’ve read through this comprehensive guide and know everything there is to know about buying car insurance in Louisiana, it’s time to hit the road. Now is the time to compare car insurance in Louisiana by looking for the best car insurance policies at the most affordable rates.
Getting started is easy. Compare rates across Louisiana car insurance companies by entering your ZIP code in our free car insurance comparison tool below.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.